Cross Cultural Friendship

…or…the Internet is a wonderful place!

As you all know, we are here in Copenhagen, Denmark for our annual trip for J’s job.  I love this city, and have since the first moment I set foot here 4 years ago, but now I have reason to love it even more: friends!

I’m sure many of you read Astrid’s beautiful Connecting The Dots blog, and you have seen her beautiful creations, most notably her beautiful children!  We “met” through the yahoo sewing group ottobre-english.

Well, I was fortunate enough to have spent the day with them yesterday at the Copenhagen Zoo.  It was cold and rainy, and the girls were a little shy at first (I have to admit, so was I!) but in the end, coloring books, snacks, and the sweetest little Frida has us all come out of our shells to have a lovely time!

Ronja and Ella held hands periodically as we walked.  (It’s too bad I’m not a very good (or quick) photographer, because it was really, really darling!)  I just loved watching them interact, and they really seemed fond of each other.

  hands_zoo

Ronja is so beautiful, and a loving big sister to her little Frida. Sweet Frida had a nap after her sparkle, shiny, smiley lunch.  She is probably the happiest baby I have ever met, and so beautiful, all the time! She really has a twinkle in her eye….as if everything is amusing to her.

111908zoo 031

Ella and Ronja also taught each other the names for the animals in their respective languages.  It was so sweet to see them talking to each other, only briefly pausing from time to time for Astrid’s translations.

111908zoo 024

Ronja made Ella the most beautiful drawing!  I cannot wait to frame it and hang it in her room! (And seriously, how on earth could any fabric be this beautiful?  Astrid gave me the loveliest collection of Danish fabrics and now I miss my sewing machine.)

111908zoo 043

When it was time to leave, Ella asked if Ronja was coming to our “hotel-house” to color some more with us.  If that isn’t an endorsement of a budding cross-cultural friendship, I don’t know what is!

11 Comments

Filed under inspiration on the web, life, motherhood, traveling

11 responses to “Cross Cultural Friendship

  1. Margrethe

    What a charming account of your day together. I was really caught by your description of Ronja & Ella teaching each other the animals’ names.
    And of course I’m proud of my grandchildren 🙂
    Hope you enjoy your stay in Copenhagen despite the rain (snow expected tomorrow).

    Astrid’s Mom (Ronja’s & Frida’s Granny)

  2. We had a wonderful time indeed – and your description of my girls is so sweet! Beautiful Ella did a much better job at hiding her tiredness than Ronja did! I would have loved to spend some time sewing or fabric shopping, but it was wonderful for the children to meet each other, and that just works better at the zoo! 🙂

  3. Oh I am so glad you wrote about your meeting each other. I needed some happy news today. I am also sure that Melissa, Teri, a few others and myself wish we were there with you guys. The kids look so cute together. How fun!

  4. Sara

    Oh the girls are so sweet! It’s always nice to meet friends face to face.

  5. This is just a wonderfully sweet moment and you wrote about it so well. That is amazing you got to meet each other! Natalie (from Ottobre list)

  6. What a fun time!!! It’s always wonderful to meet other sewing fans – I have met several from PR and cherish those fun times we’ve had. Enjoy the remainder of your trip.

  7. Pingback: Connecting the dots… » Blog Archive » Friends from the internet

  8. Jeannine is absolutely right….wish we were there with you. looks like a wonderful day.

  9. How wonderful and sweet!

  10. Medrie

    You and Astrid (and all three sweet girls) are wonderful. Thanks for the description of your day;sounds like it was thoroughly an experience to treasure.

  11. Jen-Jen

    I loved reading about your trip! What a lovely experience!

    btw… Happy B-day!

Leave a Reply

