some things I don’t want to forget….ellabella is 23 months old

So Ella is not yet 2, but almost, and she has been learning so much – I want to remember every last thing from before she was 2….

Yesterday she asked to use the potty.  This was not the first time, because earlier in the week she had made a little “deposit” for us and was SO proud.  She likes sitting on the potty lately.  She’s asking more and more often, so I found her a sweet little cushion-y seat so she can be comfortable.  I have a feeling I’m going to spend the next few weeks on the floor of the bathroom while she works on her new project….good thing I have a nice laptop and an extra battery so I can work!

Last night at dinner we were reading her book while we waited for the sushi.  She pointed to a small gnome and said “gum?”  Was she reading the “g” in Gnome?  When we answered her and said “Gnome” she threw her head back and laughed, my loud bark of a laugh.  She’s been experimenting with laughs lately.  It’s as if she borrows one of ours to try it on.

She likes to change her clothes.  At least 3 or 4 times per day.  Funny that her dollies are not allowed to wear any clothes.  All babies must be naked!

Her favorite bedtime song lately is ABC.  Not the Jackson 5 version, unfortunately, but the alphabet version.  Repeatedly.  Hundreds of times per week.

August2008 015 She LOVES to color.  She has always held her pencil/crayon/writing implement properly.  So much so, that the triangular fat crayons meant to encourage proper grip are annoying her!  Her favorites are the small IKEA crayons because they color bright, bold shades.  When a crayon leaves only a faint mark she becomes agitated and says “working!  NOT working!”

She has a great sense of humor, and makes rather sophisticated jokes.

She uses proper verb tense.  Always.  she even corrects herself and chuckles when she makes a mistake.  (“I go (hee hee) went to kitchen.”)

Every day is a new adventure.  I’m so grateful that we get to spend our days together.  At the same time I feel like I cannot believe she’s almost two, I cannot believe she’s ONLY almost 2.  We’re going to enjoy this last month of being 1.  J keeps saying “she’s two” but she isn’t.  She’s only one so far, and I’m in no hurry to rush her.  I relish every moment of this precious one year old!

4 Comments

Filed under motherhood

4 responses to “some things I don’t want to forget….ellabella is 23 months old

  1. she could be starting to sound things out. we thought my son had horrible speech. it took a while for us to realize, he was saying things phonetically. he was reading paragraphs before i realized he was actually reading, not just memorizing. he was 2 and a half. geesh. it was years later when we were looking at old videos that i made the connection with phonetics and his “poor” speech.

  2. She’s so sweet – what a smart cookie! Yes, relish tho moments, as we both know, they grow way too fast as it is.

  3. There’s no doubt, Ella is a precious child! She really seems to know in what direction she wants to go. And isn’t it weird – time seems to pass really quickly and really slowly at the same time…

  4. Oh, what a grand idea to write about all the wonderful things Ella is experiencing right now before she hits that 2 mark. I laughed throughout your entire blog, because so much of it sounded familar. Olivia cannot speak, but enjoys sitting on the potty and tinkling every 45 seconds. I too, spend alot of time with a mound of books on the bathroom floor. I have spent the last 10 days on vacation with my mother and kids, and wow I enjoyed the down time. I have been so busy, that it has been a real joy watching Olivia turn into a toddler. Now I need another week to catch up on blogs, people and websites. Speaking of which, your Etsy store looks lovely. Many beautiful things Karen.

Leave a Reply

