Japanese Fabric, Japanese Food

Tonight we took Ellabella and Jack to our favorite restaurant, Shiro, here we all ordered exactly what we usually order.  Ella had a bowl of steamed rice (with “shaush” of course), some edamame, and pickled ginger.  The child is definitely my daughter, though she looks just like daddy….she eats like me.  BIG flavors.

We went to our favorite little coffeehouse afterward for some super-spicy chai for me and dessert for the boys. Ella loves “runnin’ way” outside the coffee house, so we sat outside, where she could safely run ‘way from us and return for some more “tease you” which involved getting up and pretending to chase her for a couple steps.

.  Ella in Bonnie Dress

She’s wearing the Bonnie Dress which I have just listed in my shop. I love how this dress turned out, especially since I was terrified to cut into the fabric!

It’s full of surprises, and I’m as proud of the inside as I am the outside!  All the seams are bound, flat-felled, or otherwise enclosed.  I hope this dress will be the one that is put away for the grandchildren after many years of play.  It certainly won’t wear out, even after being handed down to younger siblings.

I’m especially fond of the pleat in back:Back - pleats

And the secret pockets for little treasures (or little hands):

Secret Pockets!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m in love with the covered buttons and the way the sweet polka-dots that peek out from the hem and the collar.

It was difficult to find a matching velvet ribbon, but I think I’ve hit the mark. And the pleats in the sleeves give a beautiful sense of volume when the arms are lifted.

Sleeve detail

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I wish I had enough of this gorgeous Ouka by Kokka fabric to make a Bonnie Dress for myself.  Who am I kidding?  I barely have time to look for things at Target for me.

What a segue….I did find some lovely items at Target.  This Dress:

Target Dress

And these FANTASTIC shoes! (I swear they are straight out of the Mad Men costume trailer…)

Mad Men Shoes!

Back to Japanese fabric….and shop updates….I’ll soon be listing a local favorite: Little Woo.  I’ve made it up this time in a Bamboo Knit with the same gorgeous Ouka flower circle fabric as the Bonnie Dress.  I’m giving the arms a little more room, so it can be worn as a jacket or as a sweater. 

Ella loves hers!

Ella  at Sunset in Little Woo Bamboo

Each one will have a different set of buttons, as I’m finding all sorts of appropriate goodness from my grandmother’s button stash.

5 Comments

Filed under creativity, life, sewing

5 responses to “Japanese Fabric, Japanese Food

  1. What beautiful things Karen! And yay for getting yourself something new too. You’re a beauty mama! 🙂

  2. Love the cute little dress- what great fabric! And your new shoes are cool, too!

  3. Pingback: Peter the 6th grader is ready for middle school « my dharma…work in progress

  4. Medrie

    The Bonnie dress is too beautiful! Thanks for sharing all the details.

  5. Jen-Jen

    Karen, I love your dress from Target and I flat out love the Japanese dress that Ella models so well.

Leave a Reply

