she’s sleeping in her own bed

…so of course I cannot sleep…half-listening to the monitor for signs of wakefulness…

She’s only 19 months old.  Last night she slept there from 9:30 to 3 a.m. with only one bout of wakefulness and to soothe her, I ran in to nurse her back to sleep, feeling useful.  At 3 a.m. J said “bring her in here” when we heard her say “Mommy” on the monitor, but directly after I picked her up into my arms, I realized she was already back to sleep and regretted taking J’s advice (despite the fact that sleeping without her is a major adjustment for me.)

It’s hard, when she’s ready to grow up and I’m lagging behind, but I never, ever want to hold her back.

 

So here I lie, in my own bed, awake.

(no new pictures, because she sent my SD card to the bottom of the pc case by sticking it into the CF card slot.  Waiting for a new SDHC card, but I do miss my camera.)

3 Comments

Filed under life, motherhood

3 responses to “she’s sleeping in her own bed

  1. Oh babies growing up is so heartbreaking! My “baby” is turning 4 in a few weeks – wahhh! Yep, us moms are never ready quite as soon as our babies are, it’s a bittersweet time for sure. ((Hugs))

  2. We’re in the midst of the exact same adjustment – even if Frida is only 8 months old. She started sleeping in her own room 5-6 days ago, but it has been so easy actually – it seems that she’s really happy with it. She gives us the biggest smiles when she wakes up in the morning in her own bed. And that way, it’s much easier on the mom… Good luck with it – and have a great Friday! 😉

  3. Oh Karen, it is a happy day – rejoice! Your little girl is growing up. I was so happy when my son moved out of his crib (20months). He loved his bed. We decided to not buy a box spring to keep him lower to the ground, and he has never fallen out of his bed. Another good tip someone gave us was to take the mattress from the crib and place it next to the bed, in case you do have a problem with her falling out. I cannot believe our children are growing up so fast. I miss the baby stage. Let us know how things go.
    Jeannine

Leave a Reply

