Full, Nourishing Weekend

So, Peter and I attended yet another fabulous cooking class at the Detroit Evolution Laboratory. I love that they are willing, enthusiastic even, about having a 10 year old in class. We made stunningly delicious food, as ever, and shared a meal and conversation with our classmates. One of the classmates commented that the discussion was a little heady for a kid to take in; but Peter is fascinated by people and opinions, and wants to learn as much as possible. The only issue is that it “seems” like he’s not paying attention, or even a little bored at times. I know that’s not the case, however, as we discussed the regeneration of a city and culture on the way home from our class. I came to understand that he takes things in differently from most people.

Peter wanted to help at the Great American Meat-Out, and so Gregg and Angela graciously agreed to have him  Ella needed a hug while Peter was working!  assist at their table, talking to insterested people, taking a survey to help plan their new vegan restaurant in Eastern Market opening later this year, and doing whatever Peter does. He was nervous at first; not accustomed to speaking to strangers, but relaxed as he practiced a bit.

He believes so deeply in a compassionate life that any fears or nervousness he may have experienced disappeared with the sense of purpose he felt. It was also invaluable for him to witness the way our friends are comfortable and enthusiastic and peaceful in their interactions with everyone. I am so grateful to have friends who value Peter, and love him for who he is….sometimes I think they are more accepting of Peter than I am. 

While Peter was learning about sustainability, consumption, and animal rights (and food!), I needed to make a stop over at the Loop Social Circle event. Unfortunately, it was scheduled for the same day as the VegMichigan event, but fortunately, it was only a couple of miles away.

To complete my unintentional “good for my kids, even though it’s not easy” social experiment, I took Ella to my parents’ house near the events. She was not happy, initially, about being away from me (that’s an understatement – she’s in full-on separation anxiety phase), especially since she was still clingy from having 5 hours away from me the night before (during the cooking class) but I had to fulfill my commitment to attending the crafting event, and besides, I wanted to go!  That said, I couldn’t stay long, in fact only enough time to sew on a couple buttons, but it was a fantastic oasis of calm. Next time I’m definitely staying long enough to complete a whole project!

Best part? I returned to this:
Ella and Pepe napping
Which, honestly, had I not seen with my own two eyes, would not have believed!

In between all of these activities, we had more activities – baseball evaluations for team placement, Jack and Julia over for the weekend, a bit of sewing (and a tutorial in the works!) and a lot of outdoor play and indoor housekeeping.

The weekend was full, but oh-so-fulfilling, and I am filled with gratitude.

1 Comment

Filed under cooking, creativity, life, motherhood

One response to “Full, Nourishing Weekend

  1. Jennifer

    Karen,
    I love this photo… and all of your stuff! You are so talented, but I knew that way back when.

Leave a Reply

