Nephew on the Way

I don’t know why I forgot that I knew how to sew when Peter was a baby, but making these clothes for my nephew-on-the-way was a wonderful experience!  I found some lovely fabric from my Japanese fabric co-op and looked for a few tiny baby designs from ottobre to make for him.  Since my sister in law is stylish and unique, I knew her son would need something out of the ordinary for his first time with us.
velveteen bunny set - back
The Velveteen Rabbit is one of my favorite stories of all time, so velveteen and bunnies was a natural combination. And, every kid needs some black to match their mommy, in my opinion. In fact, making this outfit reminded me that Ella looks lovely in black, too, and I’d better sew some new things for her soon!

I have a double-sided minky fleece blanket I’d like to bind in the bunny fabric, as well. I think I’ll do it by hand. I keep waffling whether to hand stitch or machine stitch the binding, but I think time is going to dictate the machine does my heavy lifting. I have to remind myself that each stitch is still filled with love, whether machine or hand-done.
double minky blanket....and bunny binding

I was also able to get my hands on some double-sided pointelle knit Japanese fabric from Kokka’s Trefle line, and I made some sweet layette items for the little one as yet to be named.
snuggly sleep set

I made my favorite types of clothing, but only one of each, so that my sister-in-law can tell me which she likes best. I wish I’d have made some tiny things for Ella before she was born…

Next, I have a few things for Ella in the works, some more pants for Peter, and possibly another shirt, and next- something for ME! I just wish someone would start a sewalong, so I could get motivated. Maybe I should?

1 Comment

Filed under creativity, sewing

One response to “Nephew on the Way

  1. I love all the patterns you seem to find! I really should look for some patterns for my kids, even for me 🙂

    Beautiful little outfits you have made here!

Leave a Reply

