happy birthday to me

Today we had a wonderful breakfast after I opened my presents (yippee!) and then stopped at the Detroit Institute of Arts (Ella’s first time)
Ella at the Museum

We returned and Peter and I sewed for a while while J and Ella napped.

I finally finished my neice Sophia’s birthday outfits. The first is an ottobre outfit from the autumn issue (4/2007) which includes a keyhole T-shirt and a modified version of the leggings from the same issue. I used a plain red rib from JoAnn fabrics with an adorable knit print from the Joy of Sewing co-op.Instead of an elastic waistband, I made a nice wide contrast waistband out of the orange fabric. It folds down to provide more wearable months as the baby grows, and a very comfortable waist for big toddler bellies. I used the serger to finish the edges with a rolled hem. I don’t think it looks too terrible for my first try:
hem edges:
First ever rolled hem

Ella in her cousin’s outfit:
Ella in Sophia's outfit.

Peter made a star ornament of felt (picture to come) and I finished up Sophia’s dress out of some echino “Bird on a Ball” and dots from the chloefabrics yahoo co-op.
Front:
Koharu's Clothes e1 front

Back:
e1 back

I used my wonderful new serger to make the french seams and after I climbed my steep learning curve they turned out rather nicely. First I made a narrow hem with wrong sides together, to avoid any strings or unraveling; then did a three-step pressing; and then I encased the narrow hem inside the new seam, wrong sides together:
e1 french seams

After dinner at Shiro, Ella lounged with Daddy for a bedtime story.
Lounging with Daddy

J connected the stereo so I can plug in my new 80gb ZUNE and listen to all our music in the Sewing Room.

Now J and I are watching “Freaks and Geeks” (one of my birthday gifts – the entire series on DVD)

I also drank some wonderful tea all day in my new flower brewing mug from my parents in law.  It was a good day.  I like being 36.

Leave a comment

Filed under life

Leave a Reply

