Peter is TEN

I cannot believe I have a ten-year-old son.

I have a beautiful, compassionate, funny, slightly obnoxious, intelligent individual for a son.

I can see what happens when you put love and understanding, rules and discipline, respect, creativity, and fun into a family…it produces beautiful individuals.  Since we have begun our journey as a family, Peter has developed from a slightly anxious, very intense, mostly internally focused person into an outgoing, creative person with a fantastic sense of humor, and a lot of joy.  He still struggles with social situations, and anger, but we’re working on that.

When we were interviewing for preschool at the Detroit Waldorf School I remember being asked what Peter was like.  I remember responding that he was intelligent, gentle and intense.  I distinctly remember not describing him as “happy” and feeling defeated because I had a 3 year old, who could not be described as “happy.”  I wondered how I could give this little person everything he’d need to live a normal life.  We discovered later that year (and were confirmed with a diagnosis several years later) that he has Asperger’s Syndrome.  All of his idiosynchrocies and needs began to make sense.  His Sensory Intergration Dysfunction was named and could be addressed…but I had no idea where to start.  I never expected that we could eventually be so happy.

Peter’s teacher that year told me that she truly believed Peter was born to me because I am the only person in the world who could be his mother.    I think about that quite often, mostly when things are hard for us, but I feel so fortunate that he was given to me.  He is so dear to me, my sidekick, my beautiful boy.  He has blossomed into such a wonderful son, and brother, and person.  I know I am the only person who could be his mother, but I am the lucky one.

I cannot wait to see what the next ten years bring.
Peter's new Zune

Leave a comment

Filed under motherhood

Leave a Reply

